Conner, Noxubee cruises past St. Stanislaus to repeat in 4A


OXFORD — It was as a dominated performance as anyone could ask for.

Behind a fierce defense and the passing of Ti’Morris Conner Noxubee County crushed St. Stanislaus 44-23 to claim the MHSAA Class 4A state championship for the second straight year at Ole Miss’ Vaught-Hemingway Stadium.

It is the Tigers (12-4) fourth state championship in school history.

Conner finished the night 18 of 26 passing for 365 yards with four touchdowns.

His leading receiver was Kymbotric Mason. Mason had five catches for 113 yards with two touchdowns. He had a 14-yard touchdown catch in the second quarter and a 31-yard touchdown catch in the third quarter.

Ladaveon Smith had nine catches for 170 yards and had a 20-yard touchdown catch with 6:34 left in the fourth quarter.

The Noxubee County defense sacked St. Stanislaus quarterback Myles Brennan seven times and held the Rock-a-chaws to (-47) yards rushing.

Kyziah Pruitt had a 98-yard fumble return for a touchdown in the second quarter for the Tigers.

Brennan led St. Stanislaus with 268 yards passing with two touchdowns. Owen Betz had the two touchdown catches for the Rock-a-chaws. Mason Favre had a 52-yard fumble return for a touchdown for St. Stanislaus (11-4).