Seventeen Bulldogs Named To SEC Honor Roll

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Coming off a fall semester during which the Mississippi State football team posted its third-highest grade point average ever, 17 Bulldog student-athletes were recognized today as members of the Southeastern Conference Academic Honor Roll.

A pair of four-time honorees headline the list, with Cam Lawrence and Baker Swedenburg earning the distinction each year since 2009. Sam Williams was named to the Honor Roll for the third time, while Dillon Day, Nick Griffin, Brandon Hill and Eric Lawson became two-time honorees.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria should be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.


SEC Academic Honor Roll

Taveze Calhoun                                        Kinesiology

Dillon Day                                                     Kinesiology

Quay Evans                                                  Criminology

Charles Grandfield                                  Political Science

Nick Griffin                                                  Kinesiology

Brandon Hill                                               Kinesiology

PJ Jones                                                           Kinesiology

Daniel Knox                                                 Kinesiology

Cameron Lawrence                                Business Administration

Eric Lawson                                                Kinesiology

Justin Malone                                             Criminology

Derrick Milton                                          Industrial Technology

Archie Muniz                                              Kinesiology

Justin Senior                                               English

Charles Siddoway                                   Criminology

Baker Swedenburg                                 Information Systems

Sam Williams                                              Kinesiology